A White House Affair ( L'Blanca Casa Scandola ) is an opera in four acts.  This is an outline of the libretto

(L'Blanca Casa Scandola)

The Libretto Outline


Bill Clinton has just been elected president.
The Republicans are in shock.

As the curtain rises,
House Republicans are meeting with Ken Starr
and plotting some way to remove Clinton from office.
The House Judicial Committee sings the opening chorale,
"We Will Find a Way"
("Creatio Grandissimo Floozi Scandola")

There follows a recitative, sung by Tom DeLay.
"Oh, How Can We Find a Way?"
("Dredgi Uppulia Una Granda Bimba")

The House Republicans exit while
Paula Jones enters (stage right).
She holds a mirror and is singing the plaintive
"Why Can't I Find Love?"
(" Il Mio Schnozola é Humunga")

Tom DeLay and Newt Gingrich enter (stage left).
As they spot Paula, they sing the duet,
"We Have Found Her"
("La Flooza Perfecta")

They take Paula to a small cafe
where they hatch their plot in hushed tones.
Paula tells them of her meeting in a hotel with Clinton
years earlier and how her fortunes have collapsed since then.
DeLay and Gingrich offer to help. They sing the glorious duet,
"Your Luck Has Changed"
("Nozjobbo é Rewardo")


The House Republicans reconvene
with the news of Paula's revelations.
They sing in jubilation,
"We Must Tell the World"
("Telefoniamo i del Tabloido")

The rear curtain rises to reveal
the Chorus of Media which sings the chorale,
"Tell Us More, But Only the Truth"
("Sexio Scandala Hypo Sweepi")

Gingrich enters with Pat Robertson.
They sing the duet,
"He Must Go"
("Hypocriti Pious Crapolla")

Robertson offers to make time on his television program
to expose the charges.  At the House Republicans' suggestion,
Paula initiates a lawsuit.  The scandal becomes
the country's topic of conversation.

A Chorus of Lawyers enters (stage right)
to sing the jubilant grand chorale,
"We Must Do Our Duty"
("Multi, Multi Grande Moolah")

Ken Starr meets with House Republicans
to plan their next move.
They sing the chorale,
"We Will Save the Country "
("Sleezi Connivo")

Starr promises to convene a grand jury
that will send the charges to Congress.
He sings,
"The Truth Will Be Known"
("Whitewater Non Starto, Probo La Flooz Epidemio")

The Chorus of Lawyers sings a reprise of
"We Must Do Our Duty"
As the act ends.


Linda Tripp enters (stage left) arm-in-arm with Ken Starr.
She is wearing a headset and she is singing,
"Monica Is My Dearest Friend "
("Mi es la Wiccida Witchi Occidenta")

She tells Starr about the secret tapes that
she has made of conversations with Monica Lewinski.
Starr takes them from her and sings,
"We Have Got Him Now"
("Presidente Droppo Pantoloni")

Starr hurries off to the Grand Jury to call Monica as a witness.
Monica enters the grand jury room where the Chorus of Lawyers
asks her questions. They sing the recitative,
"How Did It Happen?"
("Panti Thongo, la Fashi")

Monica sings the long passionate aria,
"We Were Meant For Each Other"
("Non Smoko el Producto, Phalli Symboglio")

In the third scene,
Bill and Hilary Clinton are sitting in
the Lincoln Bedroom talking about Monica's revelations.
Hilary sings,
"I will stand By You"
("Tu Jercho Stupido, Mi Remove Su Equippamento")

Bill replies with,
"She Was the Only One"
("Non Conto Gennifer, Paula, Piu Multi Bimba Forgetta")

They embrace.


Sam Donaldson is interviewing Henry Hyde in the Capitol Building.
The Chorus of Lawyers hums in the background.
Hyde sings the triumphal aria,
"We Believe in Something"
("Impeacho Hippi Bastardo")

Donaldson sings a recitative in reply,
"We Only Want the Truth
("Toupee Eslippo")

The great trial begins in the Senate.
Trent Lott reacts to public opinion polls
showing that the president has a
76% approval rating with the poignant,
"What Is Right Is Not Popular"
("Partia Repubblico Committini Suicido")

The Chorus of Lawyers sings the chorale,
"Principles Come First "
("Mi Adultero Non Counto")

With great flourish, Henry Hyde and Tom DeLay
stand before the Senate to present their case.
They sing the somber duet,
"How Can You Not Convict?"
("Evidenso Multi Flimsioso")

Finally in a moving chorale,
the Chorus of Lawyers sing,
"For the Good of the Nation, We Must Acquit "
("Senato Non Stupido")

After the vote is announced,
Henry Hyde, Tom DeLay and Trent Lott
leave the Senate singing the grand trio,
"We Still Know the Truth"
("Wasto Multi Millioni")

As The Act Ends


The President sings the contrite aria,
"Oh, My Country, I Am Very Sorry For What I Have Done"
("Revengo Futuro")

The Chorus of Media surrounds the president,
shouting their questions and singing,
"Who Will Now Believe Us?"
("Publicca Degustanta Es In Media")

Monica Lewinsky crosses the stage
with her new literary agent, Ken Starr.
They sing the glorious,
"It Is Still Not Over"
("Publishi Grande Bucchi, Dollare Millionari")

As the Curtain Falls.

Anonymous © unknown


Our beloved founder,
Elwood J. Krotchbaum, 1897~2008
May he rest in peace.

© 1995-2012 FortOgden Design
FortOgden pages were designed by and are maintained by FortOgden Design